Renault Kangoo Z.E. is International Van of the Year 2012

Aug 20, 2012

Europe’s first series production electric light commercial vehicle, the Renault Kangoo Z.E, has scooped the International Van of the Year 2012 award. With 104 points out of the possible 168 votes available the Kangoo ZE saw off the challenge of the Iveco Daily, Fiat Ducato and Volkswagen Caddy to take the top light commercial vehicle trophy.

The International Van of the Year Award is presented annually to the van which, in the opinion of the judges, makes the most significant contribution to the efficient carriage of goods by road. Announcing the 2012 result, chairman of the International Van of the Year jury, Pieter Wieman, said the winning van design had impressed the jury on a number of fronts and above all by the fact Kangoo Z.E. is to be considered as a breakthrough in the application of electric vans in the daily practice of commercial transport of goods by road.

The fact Renault has succeeded in keeping the cost of ownership on the same level as a similar diesel propelled vehicle, was one of the key reasons the Kangoo ZE won over the opinion of the 21-strong international jury. Furthermore, loading capacity, acceleration and more or less the speed are equal to the diesel version. The range of 170 km is enough to fulfil the needs in terms of daily covered distance of 80 percent of all van applications in Europe. Since Renault plans to produce the vehicle in larger volumes than any other manufacturer, the vehicle also contributes largely to the reduction of CO2.

Last year Renault renewed the Kangoo completely. The 2010 Award is also recognition for the new design of the Kangoo, being one of the most successful and best sold vans in this segment in Europe. In summary, Wieman explained:

“International Van of the Year” jury chairman Pieter Wieman and Jean-Marie Hurtiger, director of Renault’s Light Commercial Vehicle division

“With the Kangoo Z.E. Renault brings the electric van within the reach of the normal European van user,” he said, “thereby delivering a major contribution to environmental sustainability, one of the most important issues of the transport of goods by road nowadays.”

The Trophy was handed over to Renault by jury chairman Pieter Wieman, during the Trailernight, on 24 November 2011, the evening before the opening of the Trailer 2011 in Kortrijk, Belgium.